Categories For Water, Flood Or Sewage Damage – 3 Types Of Categories For Your Insurance Claim

There are three important categories to help restoration contractors and insurance adjusters to determine the job area and the procedures that will be needed to achieve safe and effective flood or water restoration of structures and contents. Water damage restoration is divided into three basic categories for a typical water damage project.

category 1– clean water.

Examples of clean water sources may include:broken pipes,tub overflows,sink overflows, many appliance malfunctions, falling rainwater, broken toilet tanks and even toilet bowls in some cases.

category 2–gray water.

Gray or unsanitary water contains some degree of contamination. Some examples of “gray” contaminated water may include:overflow from a dishwater, washing machine or a toilet bowl, broken aquarium, and maybe a punctured water bed. Gray water in flooded structures is significantly aggravated by time and temperature.

category 3–black water.

Heavily and grossly unsanitary, “black” water arise from large quantities of sewage entering a structure. This category also includes all forms of ground surface water rising from rivers or streams as well as sea water. This will also include all forms of sewage overflow or damage. In situations where structural components and/or contents have been heavily contaminated with such materials as pesticides, heavy metals or toxic organic substances, the water damage is known to be “black” water.

If you are unfortunate enough to encounter any of the damages listed. The proper protocol is to start the drying process, clean up and antibacterial sanitizing as soon as possible. Thus, much of the structure and sub-structure can be saved from any further damage.

Source by Vicky Bar

Basics of Estate Planning: Funding Your Trust

Why Millennials Embrace Credit Unions