Texas has its own car insurance laws just like other states in America. In Texas, it is illegal to drive a car without carrying adequate car insurance coverage. Before you go and get a driving license, it is necessary that you understand the laws of Texas car insurance. You are required to carry your insurance proof no matter where you go.
Obtaining car insurance
You can obtain the car insurance proof from an auto insurance agent or insurance company. The SR-22 form must be filled in and submitted in the event that you decide to switch to another auto insurance company. You need to fill in the SR-22 form so that the Texas Department of Public Safety can be informed about the termination of the car insurance policy.If you want to drive someone else’s car, you still need to carry liability insurance. For people who do not own cars, they should fill in the non owner SR-22 form. You can obtain the non owner SR-22 from the insurance company.
You need to carry at least the minimum requirement of auto insurance as determined by the Texas DMV department. You must carry at least $25,000 worth of property damage insurance. You also need to carry at $25,000 worth of bodily injury liability insurance for accident that involves one victim. For accident that involves multiple victims, you need to carry an insurance coverage of $50,000. It is recommended that you exceed the minimum requirement of the DMV department. Carrying more auto insurance coverage enables you to be protected from possible financial damage.
Penalties for damage
From time to time, the law enforcement officer will stop your vehicle and demand for the auto insurance policy. If you get caught without insurance coverage, you will get a fine. The fine for first time offender is about $175 – $350. If this is not the first time you commit the offense, you will get fined for an amount in between $350 – $1000. Your driving license will be suspended. Besides, your vehicle will also be impounded.
The law enforcement officer in Texas is able to check whether your vehicle is insured by using the TexasSure database. They can find out whether the vehicle is insured by checking the license plate. The law enforcement officers can have access to the TexasSure database when inside the patrol car. With TexasSure, the law enforcement officer can check whether you have car insurance coverage within a few minutes.